Official website for the Namibia Ice and Inline Hockey Association

The Namibia Ice and Inline Hockey Association (NIIHA) is the governing body of inline hockey in Namibia. NIIHA is responsible for the administration, development and coordination of inline hockey, both nationally amongst the various clubs and internationally at competitions. NIIHA is also a registered member of the Namibia Sports Commission and also a member of the International Roller Sports Federation, now known as World Skate.

Inline hockey was introduced to Namibia in 1995. On 30 March 1996, after a steady incline of interest in the sport, the Namibia Inline Skating Association (NISA) was born. A team consisting of Harald Schmidt as President, Knolles Green as Vice-President, Gisi Mitchell as Treasurer, Manfred Loth as PRO and Tina Green as Secretary-General laid the foundation and continued paving the way to grow and promote the sport on both a national and international level.

NISA became a member of the Namibia National Sports Council and subsequently became affiliated to the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF).

In 2005 the name of the association was changed to the Namibia Ice and Inline Hockey Association, making provision to introduce ice hockey into Namibian sports in the future. With its main focus to grow and develop inline hockey and the tremendous progress made in it, NIIHA withdrew their membership with the IIHF in May 2017 due to a lack of ice hockey facilities and activities in the country. NIIHA’s focus paid off when, in 2022, the Namibian Junior Ladies team – under the guidance of the Namibian National Coach Brian Sobel and Assistant National Coach Luke Stamatiadis – made history by becoming the first African Team to win the World Skate Championship, after beating team USA in the finals.

NIIHA remains determined to continue to successfully develop and grow inline hockey in Namibia.

National and Development Coaching Team

Latest News

29 Oct
Inline hockey wins big at the Namibia Annual Sports Awards
It was a night that won’t soon be forgotten. The 2023 Namibia Annual Sports Awards, hosted at the Dome, Swakopmund, saw the halls lined with Namibia’s finest athletes and sports...
25 Sep
Announcement of the Namibia Annual Sports Awards 2023 Finalists
Some very exciting news to share today as the 2023 NSC Namibia Annual Sport Awards Finalists have been announced! Junior Sportswoman of the Year - Christine Röttcher Sports Team of...
31 Jul
Another silver and bronze from Belgium
After recent success by the Namibian Senior Ladies at the European Championship in Charleroi, Belgium, the Junior Ladies made waves when they battled their way through to the finals on...


Indemnity Form
Registration Form

Find us on Facebook and Instagram and follow us for updates